What makes a beer sour?

Hi everyone! Back with more exciting news on all things beer related. I have been learning new things at Loma about different styles of beer and I wanted to share with you all the process and idea behind what makes a sour beer! This style is somewhat tart and can make your mouth pucker but not all sour beers are alike they all have different characteristics.  It all depends of the yeast, bacteria and other microorganisms used during the beer making process. Some have spices, fruits, and or any other ingredients that contribute to their sour like taste. For me it is my favorite kind of beer because it reminds me of sour candy from when I was a kid, I like acidity and beer that takes pungent and tangy. Fermentation

I know this might sound weird having live bacteria in your drink of choice but its similar to dairy products like milk or yogurt that you consume. Wild yeast to be exact is used in the process of sour beer making and it can be a difficult skill to master because it’s unpredictable. Some examples of traditional sours are ones like Flanders Red Ale, Lambics, and Gueuze which are Belgian style beers. If you’re a wine drinker and prefer wine over beer this style would be similar to having a glass of white wine. Usually sour beers have a similar fruity, dryness and acidic like flavor to them. There are three main microbes (microorganisms) that are responsible for most sour beers today and that is Brettanomyces, a strain of yeast to ferment beer, Lactobacillus, a bacteria that turns sugar into lactic acid, and pediococcus, also a bacteria that converts sugar into lactic acid this microbe creates a sourness taste due to the lowering of the ph level. All three create a funky aroma and add uniqueness to the sour styles of beer. 

About ndlyndon

Hey everyone, my name's Natalie Lyndon and I'm here to tell you all my passion for all things sour! Once I discovered that there was an entire category of beers that were sour created I have been on a journey to discover and taste them all. I love tart flavors when it comes to it I will pretty much will put lemon on anything.
This entry was posted in Sours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

