Dry Stouts

With Saint Patricks day being tomorrow I was at my work yesterday and Warren the brew master who creates all of our delicious beers told me we are coming out with a dry stout for Saint Patricks day. I was unaware of what exactly a dry stout is and he gave me a  sample to try and boy was it delicious. It was creamy almost velvety and had a rich dark taste to it, the color is like a espresso and you have to wait for the bubbles to reach the top. The really cool thing about stouts are they are made with less carbon dioxide instead  they have nitrogen to prevent less carbonization, similar to a Guinness style of beer.

Even though it a dark beer it has a lighter component to it as well, the taste is from roasted barley and a large amount of hops, but the roasted flavor is more dominant. Some variations are baltic porter, milk stout, and imperial stout, etc. They call it a dry stout because it is less sweet than a milk stout or oatmeal stout which uses sugar, lactose which is delivered from milk. A common dry stout is the world famous Guinness beer that we all know and love. Large volumes were exported to Ireland and that’s how it became adopted and known as an Irish style beer due to Guinness in Ireland in 1820. Now it is a tradition to drink stouts during the irish holiday. I’m excited to drink and celebrate tomorrow after learning more about this style of beer. 

 

About ndlyndon

Hey everyone, my name's Natalie Lyndon and I'm here to tell you all my passion for all things sour! Once I discovered that there was an entire category of beers that were sour created I have been on a journey to discover and taste them all. I love tart flavors when it comes to it I will pretty much will put lemon on anything.
This entry was posted in Stouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

