Wheat Beer…

My next discovery was on the simple question what is a wheat beer? I know that most beers essentially are made with the idea that wheat is one of the main ingredients which to my discovery is somewhat true. Wheat beer originated from Belgium and Germany and goes back a long time in history. The two star ingredients are wheat and malted barley besides adding fruits, spices and other ingredients that make them unique to the master that is creating their own signature batch they all start out with a couple of the same ingredients. Wheat beer usually has a distinct flavor profile which results to flavors like orange peel and coriander, both perfume the wheat beer other flavors that you might find are banana and cloves. Wheat beer has a low bitter content and has been nicknamed “White beer” because its light almost carmel looking color.

Wheat beer can mean an awful lot of things, generally it means that 50% of its comes from malted wheat. I think majority of newbie beer drinkers started out with having some sort of wheat beer, mine was blue moon and stella. I think most start out with wheat beers because they are the “gateway beer” meaning easy constancy, light tasting, drinkable, cloudy and perfect for drinking during the summer time. I believe a Blue Moon can lead the path to more adventurous choices like lagers and more complex styles. Its this fascination for expanding the palate, trying new flavors, and it all starts out with having your first wheat beer. Congrats!

About ndlyndon

Hey everyone, my name's Natalie Lyndon and I'm here to tell you all my passion for all things sour! Once I discovered that there was an entire category of beers that were sour created I have been on a journey to discover and taste them all. I love tart flavors when it comes to it I will pretty much will put lemon on anything.
This entry was posted in Wheat beers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.