First their sour…then their sweet!

I have always found sours to be quite different and an acquired taste to some. But sours are a unique blend of their own and have characteristics that pair well with food. I think its personal preference with what kind of food goes with sours because it all depends on the fruits that are added or the type of blend you start out with. Some think since sours are light and refreshing they pair well with seafood and or a cheese plate if you are hosting a party and are serving appetizers. For cheese I would stay clear from salty and go with soft, creamy rinds. With meats same thing goes and I would stay away from prosciutto because of the salt factor. Fattier meats pair well with the acidity of the sour and cut through the richness. Another great addition would be a fruity jam maybe like an apricot or fig marmalade, I would keep out acidic things like pickles or veggies since they are similar in taste and would dominate the palate. Cheddar and blue cheese goes well with sours because of the potent complexity.

As dessert goes I might consider making a lemon tart with a raspberry compote and seeing if that accompanies frambois styles of sours. For the meat factor I would also try pork belly or a braised beef low and slow the sour would cut through the fat and provide a nice element of acidity that the dish needs. Without having to add more flavorings to the dish drinking a delicious sour can provide a nice finish that rounds the meal out. I am going to practice my cooking skills with sours in the kitchen and put it to the test! Good luck trying these food pairings out!

About ndlyndon

Hey everyone, my name's Natalie Lyndon and I'm here to tell you all my passion for all things sour! Once I discovered that there was an entire category of beers that were sour created I have been on a journey to discover and taste them all. I love tart flavors when it comes to it I will pretty much will put lemon on anything.
This entry was posted in Food pairings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

