Does Beer go bad?

I asked myself this question after wondering if all beers were the same in what their expiration dates say, but the fact is that some beers can last decades while other’s may last a week or two. How could a beer go bad though? Doesn’t all beer last unless already opened? I did my research and found some answers regarding this question. What I found was that beer can expire but not how things in the fridge do. Instead over time beer changes in flavor and body you might see the carbonation decrease as well. Luckily my favorite beer (sours) taste better with time like a fine wine ones like barley wines, lambics, and imperial stouts all age and taste better as they develop with time. Usually the darker and stronger the beer is the better it ages. One’s you wouldn’t normally try aging would be your BudLight or Corona. Which are light as it is and have a shorter shelf life.

How long a beer can last really depends on the type and the storage conditions, usually a beer lasted about 3 to 4 months after bottling Always just check the expiration date on the bottle or can before hand and you should be good to go. I also looked into how to make your beer last longer and here are some tricks in doing so. First store beer at a temperature between 45 degrees F and 55 degrees F. The temperature difference should make it last as long as possible and if you can’t keep it at this temp keep beer in the fridge. The second tip is to not store your beer in the light, it can disrupt the chemical balance after a long period of time giving off a skunky taste. Also don’t let your beer get too hot if this happens it can make your beer overheat and create a curdled taste and smell. Use the basic principles of beer storing and you should be fine with keeping your beer cool and fresh tasting at all times.

About ndlyndon

Hey everyone, my name's Natalie Lyndon and I'm here to tell you all my passion for all things sour! Once I discovered that there was an entire category of beers that were sour created I have been on a journey to discover and taste them all. I love tart flavors when it comes to it I will pretty much will put lemon on anything.
This entry was posted in New Trends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

